ISO 9001:2008 Sections

There are four sections in ISO 9001:2008 that specify the key activities while implementing a system.

  1. Management Responsibility

    There must be a commitment to the establishment of quality policy, planning and objectives as well as meeting customer requirements. There should be measurable and quantifiable improvement targets and supporting data.

  2. Resource Management

    This is required with specific attention to resource availability and resources such as information, communication, facilities and work environment. The training effectiveness must be evaluated.

  3. Product/Service Realization

    While this is a rather abstract concept, it is now central to ISO's approach. In fact, ISO devotes an entire section (Section 7) to this new concept. A product usually starts out as an idea. The idea is realized or actualized by following a set of product realization processes. Product realization refers to the interconnected processes that are used to bring out high quality products. Essentially, when you start out with an idea and end up with a product, you've gone through the product realization process.

  4. Measurement, Analysis and Improvement

    These are required for 'continual improvement' as it is an explicit requirement of ISO 9000:2008. Customer satisfaction must be measured. Measurements are also extended to the system, processes, and product or services. Improvement actions have to be initiated as and when necessary.

The standard is designed to look at all of the important processes affecting quality, from the initial review of contracts from customers, to the delivery of the finished product/service. The intent of the standard is to provide a universal baseline for quality management, which can be used by companies from various industry segments and around the world.