ISO 9001:2008’s Areas of Focus

Some of the changes reflected in the current standard are:

  1. Sequence

    There is a logical sequence of requirements and guidelines due to process orientation of the new standards.

  2. Top Management

    A great deal of emphasis has been placed on the role of top management, which includes its commitment to the development and improvement of quality management systems, responding to customer needs, consideration of legal and regulatory requirements, and the establishment of measurable objectives at relevant functions and levels.

  3. Continual Improvement

    An enhanced requirement for "continual improvement" has been introduced, defining a complete cycle to improve the effectiveness of the quality management system

  4. Permissible Exclusions

    The concept of "permissible exclusions" to the requirements of ISO 9001:2008 has been introduced to tackle the wide spectrum of organizations and activities that use the standard.

  5. Customer Satisfaction

    There is an organizational requirement to monitor information on customer satisfaction and/or dissatisfaction as a measure of system performance.